What we have come to call “conservative” or the Right is a group of principles whose definitional names have been invented by those who hate those principles.

The Left-Right political spectrum is simplistic and not particularly useful to oppositional elements arrayed against the Left.  There damn sure is a Left.  I’m not so sure there’s a Right, at least not in America.  Such expressions of doubt will no doubt elicit howls from The Other Side, who are in no doubt at all of my Rightwing nuttiness.  One of many reasons the anti-Left does so poorly in the infowar is that the Left controls the terms of discussion, thus restricting the language that can be used in describing and thinking about anybody so politically incorrect, so culturally insensitive, so jingoistic, so environmentally selfish as to unbellyfeel.

Bruce Walker over at American Thinker is more articulate than I am, so I will just point you in his direction:

Who gave us the terms “Left” and “Right”?  The atheistic, murderous French Revolutionaries, who were  themselves on the Left Bank of the Seine,  and whose implacable enemies were on the Right Bank of the Seine.  These monsters, overshadowed by the evils of other Leftists later, were quite prepared, by their own admission, to kill one quarter of the population of France – many millions of people – to achieve their revolutionary aims.
 
Who invented the terms “liberal,” “conservative,” “progressive,” “reactionary,” “revolutionary,” “radical,” and “moderate” in the sense that we use those terms today?  Karl Marx and those who largely accepted the Marxian view of things created this lexicon of political shades.  Marx, who influenced Lenin, Mussolini and Mao, has been allowed from the grave to give us those words that we use to describe our politics today. 
Orwell presciently told us that language is the key to politics. 
 

I gotta quit calling myself a conservative.

6 Comments

Filed under Idea War

6 responses to “What we have come to call “conservative” or the Right is a group of principles whose definitional names have been invented by those who hate those principles.

  1. Grimmy

    “I gotta quit calling myself a conservative.”

    Yep. 100% agree. I am no great paragon of virtue myself, but I do demand honor and integrity from those who want to lead.

    The GOP is just another populist party representing nothing except gaining power for the sake of gaining power.

    I would be a Constitutional Party member, except they’re old school isolationists. And isolationism is suicide in a world where death can reach out and touch millions of us all at once from several horizons away.

    I do wish someone would start up a solid American Imperialist Party. That would probably scare the bejesus out of all the dumb*** foreign devils and get them to sit down, shut up and behave for at least a decade.

  2. Grimmy

    O/T but relevant to this site’s purpose:

    Winter Soldier 2 is coming to a kangaroo court near your media microphone.

    And, man, do you need a frikin preview button on here or what? That’s a hint, btw, in case I was too subtle.

  3. Civilize ‘em with a Krag, Grimmy, and send a gunboat.

  4. I got your preview button right here.

  5. Grimmy

    I visited that place from a link in your article.

    And, no offense, sir, but screw the Krag and the Gunboat.

    We spent all that time and money and effort inventing neutron bombs. I wanna see some return on that investment.

    PS, would you mind dropping me a line on who’s who in that program, and whether its something I might fit into…. I mean, temper wise.

  6. I do wish someone would start up a solid American Imperialist Party. That would probably scare the bejesus out of all the dumb*** foreign devils and get them to sit down, shut up and behave for at least a decade.

    I think that was called the Jacksonian War Party in bygone days.

    My views about American Imperialism was spelled out in this comment at Gri’ms post at Blackfive.

    link