How I spent My Summer Vaction

Cannoneer  and I were on R&R.   We spent some very good quaility time together.  God!  I missed him!  He has been in Afghanistan or Iraq for 27 of the last 34 months.  He has taken me to England, Thailand, and Colorado.    I’m so grateful for the R&R’s.  They make doing this a lot easier.  They are just so very short. He has been in transit and his cell phone doesn’t work in Anbar Province, so when he called yesterday I was so excited to hear from him, but I thought I heard another big BOOM ( Live from Iraq it’s Indirect Fire; 26 Feburary2007) .  My heart only stopped for a few seconds this time. He was on the email within minutes to tell me that we had just got cut off, not incoming.  Big relief! We chatted for a while then he went to get ready for work.  He calls me after his breakfast and we try to keep our lives as normal as possible.  The problem is I have a good idea of what really goes on there, being an Army brat and hearing war stories since I can remember, then being an Army wife durning all the problems our world has had since 1980 I have a very fertile imagination.  Which is not very helpful when you are trying to live with the knowledge that all your Boys ( husband and 3 sons) are in harms way.  

Right now, today, everyone I love and care about is safe and well.  Thank you God for all your blessings!  I pray constantly for everyone in harms way.  It’s how I get through the day.  It’s so very hard to do this without some kind of faith in a higher being.

Cannonette

1 Comment

Filed under About

One response to “How I spent My Summer Vaction

  1. enjoy your live